The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper."Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries.

According to the letter, the author advises that the city Parkville should stop organized athletic competiton for children under nine. To support the suggestion, the author tells us that over 4000 of these young children suffered injuiries. A recent study of young-league players in several major cities reported that there were psychological pressure exerted in coaches and parents who wanted to win games. Also, long time sessions takes up the sime of studying of these children. While this suggestion is problematic, there are some loopholes in it. We need to reexmaine them carefully.

To begin with, the fact that over 4000 injuires of these children is not evident to prove the suggestion.Firstly, the popluation of the Children under 9 is not shown by the author, so we could not figure out how much the injuries takes the part in the whole population.Secondly, we do not know what kinds of injuries did these cihldren have so the main reason of injuries cannot attribute to the youth-league sports.Maybe most of them suffered other diesease which couldn't have on the pitches like colds or cough which are common for the kids at this age.In this way the author should provide moe specific evidence to prove the reason that the youth-league should take the charge.

Another survey shows to us is also unconvicing.The author cites a recent survey in major cities to prove the youth-league should be charged. Firstly ,the scale of the survey is not including the Parkville which is not compelling to show the local condition of the Parkville. Maybe the case in the city is quite different from the major cities researched by the study. Secondly, the conditon of coaches and prarents who wanted to win the game is not persuading to the reason. As the pupurse of these people may also vaies from the Parkville to the major city.Likewise, the atuhor does not provide us the compelling evidence that psychological pressure by them is from their golas of winning games.

Finally,given the education experts say that the long practice sessions for these sports take away the time of studying, this could be true while the author fails to show us convicing evidence that the sports did have a bad influence on these children's acdemic studies. Because firstly the author does not show us the time on the sports has taken excessive time of children.Then the study of these children did have been influenced by the sports. Moreover, the suggestion of the author obsecures the kinds of the sports which can not be feasible and the evidence he shows fails to support this suggestion again. In the first local survey the author cites the sports is young-league sports, the second survey it shifts to the young-league soccer,while in the author's suggestion it turns to organized athletic competition. It will almost confound everyone when they read this letter.

In conclusion, the author's recommendation is not well supported by the evidences.To support the suggestion, the author should make an exhaustive s