The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author suggests that students in Parkville under nine years old should stop organized sporting competitions because it harm on students' safety, mental development and academic works outweigh the advantages it brings about. Close scrutiny of the reasons provided by the author reveals no solid ground to support for the claim.

First, to support the argument, the author cites the fact that more than 40,000 of youth-league sport players got injured in the past year, assuming that this is a serious problem. However, the language is ambiguous regarding how serious the injuries were. A simple angle twist and a severe bone break can both count as one injury incident. It is quite possible that most of the injuries in the statistics are slight ones, in which case it seems not provide very compelling grounds on the suggestion to discontinue the sport leagues.

Second, the author contends that another reason for ceasing the sport matches was that they induce stress in youth players, based on a survey which was conducted on a limited range of "soccer players in several major cities". The underlying assumption here is that the survey is representative of students in Parkville who participate in youth-league sports, which is problematic. For one thing, we do not know if the result drawn from major cities can be generalized to all cities in Parkville. For another, the sample of soccer players may be not representative of all youth-league players, as there is possibility that only for sports as fierce as soccer would cause the pressure on players, but not other less competitive sports. Either case will render the assumption invalid. Moreover, the author assumes that such psychological pressure to win is necessarily a harm rather than something good for players, but does not consolidate the point. It is well likely that such pressure can help students develop stronger personality which is beneficial for their long-term development to be successful.

To further proves the argument, the author cites the education experts, who stated that practicing sports are taking time from academic activities, assuming that the idea given by the experts is always reliable and that there is no dissention among experts. However, the author fails to provide the source of the statement, thus we do not know on what ground the statement is based on. Without the proof that what the experts said is trustworthy, more background information about the study needs to be provided.

In short, the author makes the suggestion that Parkville should halt athletic competition for children under nine via taking for granted several unsupported assumptions. As the assumptions are not buttressed with any evidence, the author’s argument cannot be tenable.