The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors.

"Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many food stores. Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy Industries are high in fat and cholesterol, the company's sales are likely to diminish greatly and company profits will no doubt decrease. We therefore advise Old Dairy stockholders to sell their shares, and other investors not to purchase stock in this company."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

Basing on a survey which suggested a preference of people in low-fat and low-cholesterol foods and the fact that Old Diary Industries produced mainly the opposite, the author infer that the profit of the company will surely decrease. Accordingly, he/she suggested the stakeholders and investors to either sell or not purchase at the first place the stock of the company. Although there is chance that this inference holds true, some questions need to be answered before it is logically valid.

To begin with, the first question arise is whether the sample the survey took are necessarily representative of the Old Diary Industries' main consumers. The author provides no information regarding the demographics of the respondents nor the sampling method. It is possible that the survey was conducted on the members of a gym, therefore only those who care about the healthiness of their intakes. In this case, the responses from the participants cannot reflect the attitude of mass public, thus no inference could be made based on the survey. Moreover, there isn't any evidence that a percentage of 80% is higher than the past. Therefore, we need to ask if the need in the market for food nutrition have changed at all. If the percentage remains the same as the past, then there's no ground that the sale for the Old Diary Industries is sure to diminish.

Granted that the preference of the public on food choice does change towards a healthier one, we need to ask if this necessarily lead to a decline in sales of Old Diary Industries' products? Sometimes the stated preference of the consumer does not reflect their buying behaviours. If the consumer of the company's products just wish to eat a lighter food, but cannot control themselves from eating the high-fat ones, then there would be no influence on the company' sale performance.

Even if the company's sale on high-fat and high-choleterol products do decrease, we need to know if the profit for the company must decrease? First, we do not know if these products are the only ones of the company, even if "many" products are unhealthy ones. If the company have other products that feature a balanced diet, then it is well likely that the company could still make huge profit from them, or even more as a result for people's change in dieting habit. Second, there is no reason why the company cannot change its products towards what is popular in the market. In this case, the company may be competitive because of its wide recognition from the public.

In conclusion, a number of questions need to be answered before the author's argument can be well justified, including the reliability of the survey, the ability to generalise it to the general public, the extent to which people's attitude can turn into buying behaviours, and the company's strategic plan.