The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol and today low fat products abound in many food s

The author of the article recommends investors and stockholders not to purchase stock in the Old dairy company and to sell their existing shares in this company because the company’s profit will decrease in the upcoming days. Supporting his recommendation, he cites a survey in which respondents shared their desire to curtail consuming foods that contain a higher level of fat and cholesterol, the kind of food the Old Dairy industry produces, leading the company to face profit loss. The recommendation, however, depends on a set of unsubstantiated assumptions, making it unconvincing as it stands.

First of all, the author assumes that the respondents of the cited survey are customers of the local stores where Old Dairy supplies their products. Yet, they do not offer any proof to support this assumption. Lacking such evidence, it is entirely probable that the respondents are not actually the consumer of products the Old Dairy produces. Even if the respondents are the prime consumers of those products, the author does not provide any clue from which we can derive the number of the respondents, or know what fraction of the Old Dairy consumers attended the survey. Without this information, it is possible that the number of respondents is too insignificant to draw any firm conclusion about the income of Old dairy.

Secondly, the author unfairly assumes that people have already started consuming low-fat food instead of high-fat foods. A high number of low-fat foods does not indicate a lower or decreasing number of high-fat foods, nor does it indicate a high number of sales of low-fat foods. Perhaps, store owners decided to buys more of low-fat food taking the survey into consideration, hoping for an increase in sales of low-fat foods. But it is possible that people are yet to put consuming low-fat foods into practice. Also, the author provides no indication of a decrease in sales of products that contain a higher level of fat and cholesterol. Accordingly, the author of the article can make no sound suggestions.

In sum, the author argument is unpersuasive and flawed for the above-mentioned reasons. To bolster his argument, he needs to provide sufficient evidence that (1) the survey respondents are consumers of the products that the Old dairy produces and the number of respondents are significant, (2) and people have already started reducing fats and cholesterol.