The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten year budget for the city of Calatrava The birthrate in our city is declining in fact last year s birthrate was only one half that of five years ago Thus the number of students enroll

In planning for a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava, the committee claims that they will have enough money to fund city facilities and programs initially used by adults. Supporting their argument, they point out several facts regarding the birthrate of their city. However, careful inspection of these facts shows that none of them offers credible justification for the claim.

First of all, the committee reached the claim of declining birthrate on the basis of the mere fact that last year’s birthrate was half of what was five years ago. However, without knowing the birthrate of some other recent years, it is possible that the last year’s birthrate was actually an aberration, and in fact, the city might have faced an increasing birthrate in the other four years before last year. If this is the case, then the committee could not draw any firm claim on the basis of the birthrate.

Secondly, the committee reached a decision of reducing budgeted education and athletic funds relying on the declined birthrate in last year assuming that school enrollment will significantly decrease soon. But, last year’s low birthrate should not be affecting school and athletic enrollment since at least five or six years is needed for a child to be ready for school and athletics. In this case, they should be expecting any significant change in school and athletic enrollment, and the committee’s decision of cutting the budget for education and athletics might have a negative impact, making their claim unpersuasive.

In sum, the committee’s claim, as it stands, is flawed. To strengthen their argument they need to provide sufficient proof substantiating that the city’s birthrate is actually declining and Calatrava's adult population will soon increase. For a better assessment, I would also need to that whether the enrollment in school and athletics is declining