The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors.

"Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many food stores. Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy Industries are high in fat and cholesterol, the company's sales are likely to diminish greatly and company profits will no doubt decrease. We therefore advise Old Dairy stockholders to sell their shares, and other investors not to purchase stock in this company."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

Basing on a survey which suggested a preference of people for low-fat and low-cholesterol foods and the fact that Old Diary Industries produced mainly the opposite, the author infer that the profit of the company will surely decrease. Accordingly, he/she suggests the investors not to own stock of the company. Although there is a chance that this inference holds true, some questions need to be answered before it is logically valid.

To begin with, the froemost question arises is whether the sample the survey took are necessarily representative of the Old Diary Industries' main consumers. The author provides no information regarding the demographics of the respondents nor the sampling method. It is possible that the survey was conducted on the members of a gym, that is those who care most about the healthiness of their body. In this case, the responses from the participants cannot reflect the attitude of the mass public, thus no inference could be made based on the survey. Moreover, there is no evidence that a percentage of 80% is higher than the past. Therefore, we need to ask if the need in the food market has changed at all. If the figure remains unchanged compared to the past, there is no ground that the sale for the Old Diary Industries is going to diminish.

Granted that the preference of the public on food choice does change towards a healthier one, we still need to ask if this necessarily lead to a decline in sales of Old Diary Industries' products? Sometimes the expressed preference of the consumer does not reflect their food-purchase decisions. If the consumer of the company's products just wish to eat a lighter food, but cannot control themselves from eating the high-fat ones, then there would be no influence on the company' sale performance.

Even if the company's sale on high-fat and high-choleterol products do decrease, we need to question if the profit for the company must decrease. First, we do not know if these products are the only ones produced by the company. If the company have other products that feature a balanced nutrition constituent, then it is well likely that the company could still make huge profit from them, or even more as a result of people's attitude change in dieting habit. Second, there is no reason why the company cannot change its products towards what is popular in the market. In this case, the company may be competitive because of its wide recognition from the public. In either case, the company would be able to avoid a decline in profit.

In conclusion, a number of questions need to be answered to substantiate the argument, including the representativeness of the sample in the survey, the extent to which people's attitude determine their buying behaviours, and the possible change in the company's strategic plan. Before these questions are addressed with reliable evidence, the author's suggestion remains unjustified.