Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

I mostly degree colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic would in professions relevant to the courses they teach, but as we know, some abstract professions, such as philosophy, literature, are difficult to find the job except for scholars or professors in reality.

Professors give a more convincing lecture if they had an experience working in companies or enterprise. Take accounting class for example, she had an intern and worked in one of the biggest accounting firms as she started to teach in universities. During the class, she often mentioned her experience match the sections we were learning. Like putting emphasis on debit and credit, she told us that when she was in the first month of the internship then encountering the big trouble delaying her working hours for many hours only because of mistaking of debit and credit. After checking thousands of records for several hours, she finally found the error she made. After hearing this horrible story, I strongly understood how important the debit and credit was. If she just read the sentence directly on the textbook, I may just considered it common sense and paid no attention to it.

Working in the incorporation can getting the latest knowledge and apply to the project practically. Take computer science for instance, the professors assigned to the prestigious IT company can cooperate with a group of exceptional engineers. They can catch up with the newest information about the programming skills, and examine the material they taught whether is still enough to cope with the problems in the reality. As we know, many professors use the same exam questions and assignment since they started to teach. Every homework to students finishing it step by step is the precious opportunity to learn things efficiently, but if those knowledge which aren’t important may mislead the learning direction. After staying in the workplace for half years, professors can alter the material and are more passionate to teach because they are now fully equipped. Not only do they update the knowledge but know how to combine textbook with the industry.

However, some may argue that professors mastering in rather abstract subject such as philosophy, literature or even physics have more difficulties in finding the job except for teaching and doing research. Hence, the college and university don’t have to require them to work in other places strictly for it’s time-consuming for them to find a new job. A relatively short period of time is impossible for them to get a position.

To sum up, I think the college and university should encourage most of the professors working outside without those of abstract subjects.