Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In my opinion, students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively after they’ve absorbed a basic foundation of education.

Many artists and architects were famous for creating an innovative way of design and style. Through the hundred years of history, there were no people being remembered owing to their highly imitated skills. Take Picasso for example, he was skeptical about why artists in his period were always pursuing to draw the scenery being true to life. Because of his challenge of the trend, he started the era of cubism, putting emphasis on two dimensional painting and sculpture.

On the other hand, in the scientific field, the skepticism is also important when inventing, discovering, and even developing a new theory. Take Copernicus for instance, he rejected the predecessors’ theory that all the planets were orbiting around Earth. On the contrary, he claimed that Earth wasn’t the center but Sun, which astonished every one and fomented many conservative scientists at that time. Maybe this theory wasn’t received by part of the people, but it’s trivial for us nowadays. Thanks for his achievement, the scientific revolution begun and there were numerous chemists and physicists started to be skeptical about what they have known already. Finally, they gradually attained a new goal and changed the discipline which seemed impossible to refute.

Some may argue that when students were just at initial stage of their study, it’s not good for them to be skeptical for too much skepticism may hamper the most fundamental learn. I agree that students should stop receiving the new information passively when they fulfill the certain phase of learning, such as colleges. If a student starts to question 1 plus 1 is 2, then how can he absorb other knowledge? This property is accepted by everyone and it’s also a rule of algorithm, so one cannot accept this characteristic is equivalent to stay at different discussing group. Hence, in this situation, skepticism is an impediment for people.

To sum up, students should always question what they’ve taught after receiving a certain level of education.