The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the advertising director suggests that the company should allocate a greater share of its budget next year in order to reach the public.

He points out that last year fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year according to a recent report. What's the area of the research? If the area only contains the certain city or state, it's likely that the data isn't comprehensive enough. On the other hand, how about other movie companies' performance last year? It's possible that there were a recession occurring in a country, so people may tend to cut down their expenses, such as entertainment. Hence, the advertising director can provide more data, like economic situation and other companies' performance to ensure that the company get to the right direction to solve the problem.

The manager also points out that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific movies increased during the past year. However, the contents of these reviews aren't reaching enough of the prospective reviewers.

How do they calculate a number of the reviews? It's likely that a person who love the certain movie may post lots of time to express his like. What's the total amount of viewers of the specific movies? It's possible that viewers who don't like the specific movies may never visit the theater anymore, so the viewers choosing to come to watch the movie are fond of these kinds of movie. Consequently, the positive message is increasing, but at the same time, the viewers decrease dramatically.

The manager speculates that the problem isn't the quality of the movies but lack of public's awareness. Therefore, he wants a company to allocate a greater share of the budget to use in the advertising. What's the ticket price of the movie theater? It's likely that the company provide viewers with the super screen, and it's reasonable that the price may be higher compared with other companies. Do they play the popular movies as well? If they don't play the so-called popular movies, then they may lose the competition for they only attract the minority of viewers to come.

To sum up, before the director decides to suggest the company to allocate more budgets to advertising, it still leaves many questions to be answered.