The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In my opinion, a sense of cooperation for a society to prepare its young people for leadership is important. However, a sense of competition is also crucial for the following reasons.

The idea of election has been ingrained in people's heart since hundred years ago, and most of the countries are democratic now, giving every citizen a ballot to choose his own ideal candidate. However, if young people only know how to cooperate with others, how can they be more attractive during the fierce competition? Without the concept of competition, even though they're really the excellent leaders, it's likely they may fail to get to the position because of the paucity of competition. It's obvious sometimes we may perform better than usual for we don't like the feeling of lose.

In industry, or other fields, a sense of cooperation and a sense of competition are both important. Take academic fields for example, professors' promotion in Taiwan requires high teaching quality, a certain amount of published articles, and so on. When the supervisors evaluate the performance, deciding which professor can be elevated, the performances of every professor are compared. However, when they try to do a research ranging some unfamiliar fields and conduct an experiment with other professors, which may be their skill, the professor has to cooperate with others to accomplish a case. Hence, before getting the highest of the position in the field, the professor has to equip with not only a sense of cooperation but competition.

Some may argue that too much competition may pose derivative problems. It's true that excessive competition is likely to make someone lose great opportunities in their lifetime. Imagine that a basketful player never pass the ball to his teammates, and he doesn't want to trust them that they can score. Even though he's able to get 80 scores in a game, it's unlikely that the coach and the fans will respect him.

To sum up, no matter which fields in a society, when it prepares its young people for leadership, a sense of cooperation and a sense of competition are both important. Nevertheless, too much may get the inverse effect.