When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this article, the author suggests that Stanley Park should provide more benches to be as popular with the citizens by converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

He assumes that the number of cars parking in the Stanley Park is equivalent to that of visitors. However, it’s possible that there are more than one people sitting at the car, so the visitors must outnumber 50. What’s more, it’s also possible that many people consider the park an exercised field, so they may go there on foot or riding a bike rather than drive a car. Even though the park’s drop in reality, he cannot use the amount of cars to represent the circumstances, on the contrary, he can choose that of visitors staying at the park over the certain period of time as a valid indication.

He also makes an assumption that more than 150 people indicates that they really use the facilities at the park. From the passage, we know that the rather small Carlton Park is located in the heart of the business district. Hence, it’s reasonable to say that most of the people calculated only regard the park as one of the locations during their road to the office. The author should provide readers with the data of weekends to ensure that the purpose of Carlton Park isn’t only for one of the must-go locations for employees.

The author mentions that the Carlton Park provides ample seating for citizens, and assumes that it’s one of the advantages for the park. Nevertheless, he doesn’t provide any statistic numbers to show that it’s indeed the incentive for the citizens to choose this park rather than other parks nearby. It’s likely that people working in the business center often chat with others but never sit on the benches owing to the tight schedule. Hence, ample available seats don’t impact the willingness to go the park of visitors. In other words, the location plays more important role in peoples’ choice.

At the end of the article, the author recommends that the Stanley Park can also set more benches at the park to keep popular. Nevertheless, the location between two parks may be different. In addition, the age section of the visitors and the requirement for the park might not be same. Consequently, before recommending to provide more benches, the author has to make more careful consideration and more concrete data.