When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

The aforementioned argument is well-presented and appears to be cogent at first glance: since less number of cars used Stanley Park’s parking lots last month, it seems reasonable to argue that the park is no longer heavily used by people. However, as more light is shed on the issue and more detailed information is concerned, the unsubstantiated assumptions lead me to question the validity of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that the relationship between the number of cars in the parking lots and park’s popularity is reliable. According to the video camera, only 50 cars p...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.