The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The aforementioned argument is well-presented and appears to be relatively cogent at first glance: since the Mozart School of Music shows some attractive points to enroll children, it seems plausible that the school should be the first choice for parents. However, as more light is shed on the issue and more detailed information is concerned, the unsubstantiated assumptions lead me to question the validity of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that the Mozart School of Music will be the first choice for parents since there is audition to attend the school. However, the author should take into account that parents may be inclined to choose a school that offers an audition, since it only welcome students whose musical talents are proven. In such a case, having no audition cannot be an advantage to attract students. In addition, it is likely that rather providing no audition, parents might opt for a school that has high reputation on enhancing students’ musical talent. If this would be the case, it is illogical to assert that the Mozart School will be the first choice for parents.

Another assumption the author makes is that offering a wide array of styles and genres for students can be an advantage to the Mozart School of Music. However, the ability to teach various genres and styles might not be appealing to parents since some of them may prefer a school that is specialized in a particular genre and style. They may believe that a school that have a specialty in one specific genre or style might have better ability to provide high-quality instructions for students than a school otherwise. In such a case, it is not persuasive to assume that the school will be the most popular one among parents. Therefore, more detailed information of parents’ preference on school types is necessary.

Lastly, the author assumes that having many graduates who have become well-known and highly paid professional musicians can yield the school to be the most appealing music school to parents. However, the author should consider the possibility that parents do not want their child to become become a professional musician. In other words, if parents are simply looking for a school that their children can learn music as a hobby, they might not become interested in the Mozart School because it has fostered students to become famous musicians. In such a case, the school may not be the first option for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons.

The argument above is not sound on many grounds. To bolster the argument, the author should provide all the unsubstantiated assumptions mentioned above.