Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

The author recommends that, in any field, people in power should step down to make space for new leadership; because he believes that this will result in the revitalization of the enterprise and guarantee success. All in all, the author argues that an organization can achieve success by replacing its head after every five years. While revitalization is important for an enterprise, it doesn’t necessitate change at the top leadership. Replacing effective and committed leaders after every 5 five years, has by far, more negatives repercussions than benefits.

Though revitalization is important for success, it is just one of many other requisites for an organization. The change in leadership will surely lead to the loss of useful experience that the man in power has cultivated over five years. The chair can be switched but not experience. Leading any enterprise entails complicated process and procedures which a leader learns over the period in his office. Any switch at the top means that the new person in will have to spend some time learning the ways. Moreover, the predecessor must have been at the peak of his/her leadership skills and competency after five years which the successor may probably lack. This can slow and disturb the smooth functioning and momentum of the organization. For example, Apple Inc’s demise after Steve Jobs resignation and its rise after his return aptly illustrate this point.

Moreover, the Heads, who have driven their enterprise to success, often had deep personal dedication to their cause. This personal touch can only develop after persevering for a vision for a long time. Likewise, good interpersonal relationships with subordinates are also crucial for a head to be effective. This rapport and trust building also entails years of team work with the mates. A switch in leadership after every five years may deprive organizations of personally committed and effective leaders. For example, school which often replaces its principal will rarely find one who views organizational goals as personal goals. Similarly, in a political party, new leaders, after every five years, would be less likely to have the same following as a veteran protagonist.

Another possible consequence of the recommendation is the discontinuation of the previous advantageous policies or work culture of the retiring leader by his/her successor. If some of those policies have been a driving force in the organization's success, this discontinuation could impede its progress. For example, a previous manager could be lenient with work hours, advance salaries, extended leaves, etc. and this in turn had led to the increased motivation of the employees resulting in greater productivity. The new manager, a martinet, may discontinue this policy, thus decreasing the motivation level and dedication in the employees, much for the loss to the enterprise.

Proponents of the author’s suggestion argue that new leadership brings new motivation and skill-sets. However, these benefits can still be reaped by bringing new motivated and competent personnel at the subordinate levels because, ultimately, it is through these employees that a leader operates. Another argument to support the recommendation emphasizes that old incumbent leaders may become autocratic and corrupt if not replaced. However, such leaders must not be allowed to stay in office even for 5 years. This can be dealt with placing strict accountability and appraisal policies. It is for this reason that provisions such as impeachment, vote of no confidence, etc. are enshrined in the constitutions of many organizations and governments. Impeachment of Brazilian President Delma Rousseff, on corruption charges, is a telling example.

In conclusion, revitalization is one of many requisites for an enterprise to succeed. Changing heads, after every five years, may deprive an organization from committed, influential, competent and effective leadership which is more important than the revitalized one. In fact, notwithstanding the author’s recommendation, benefits of revitalization can still be reaped by bringing in new talents at the subordinate levels as well as framing appraisal and accountability policies for the incumbent heads. Such policies would ensure smooth functioning of the organization with sustained motivation levels and good performance without invoking the big risk of replacing current leadership after a short period of five years.