Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Achieving success is paramount for young people whether it comes through the appetite for immediate fame and recognition or through the motivation for long-term realistic goals. Given that both the two mentioned factors are important in their own right for a young individual’s success, the proposition that they must be only encouraged for pursuing long-term objectives is a bit extreme.

The statement ignores the fact that the longing for immediate fame and recognition is itself a driving force for long-term success. It is a human psychology to desire for popularity in the community or a group and to be the center of everyone’s attention. This desire acts as a prompt to work harder and distinguish one’s self from others to get the accolades which is beneficial in the longer run as well. For example, the desire to gain fame by winning a national essay competition is appealing to a student, though it’s a short term objective. Regardless of the result of the competition, in the attempt to succeed, the student ends up improving his or her writing skills which may prove to be useful for his or her career in later life.

Another inadequacy of the recommendation is that it fails to understand that a feat may seem unrealistic for some and for some it may seem within reach depending upon their respective positions in their life journey. The idea for a realistic long term goal itself develops from a series of short term achievements that beget immediate recognition. For instance, a novice in politics can only see the goal of serving the country as president when he or she climbs up the political rung from a Councillor to a senator. Similarly, the hunger for immediate recognition spurs individuals from one success to another finally culminating in a successful academic life or career. For example, consider a student who craves for recognition one gets after topping in the exams. This hunger motivates him or her every year to work harder and achieve highest grades. Though, he or she was driven through the appetite for instant fame, the ultimate result is the student’s excellent education and academic record which might not have been possible by the encouragement for the same end result. This is corroborated by a recent study by Chicago Booth experts that concluded that maximizing immediate rewards for those in the pursuit of lifelong goals increases their perseverance for the goal.

Notwithstanding the importance of immediate rewards, the aim for long-term achievements is crucial in young people’s life journey. Youngsters stimulated with a lifelong aim in sight, take positive steps with discipline, sincerity and punctuality instead of ambling in quest of ephemeral fame. They learn to face short-term failures with courage and patience rather than submitting. In the absence of a lifelong mission, they might get overwhelmed by instant fame and find themselves unable to channellize that recognition positively to work harder to get better in their profession. Therefore, without a long-term objective in sight, failure to achieve immediate goals can inculcate desperation or success can result in complacency. Moreover, the craving for instant fame without a proper life mission may prompt youth to take unethical and unfair means.

To conclude with, in the attempt to emphasize the importance of long-term goals for youngsters, the recommendation undermines the role that motivation for short-term fame or recognition plays to achieve the same. While long-term objectives provide guiding principles for a youth’s journey, the desire for instant recognition or fame provides the necessary push.