In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

The statement links strong influence of past achievements to the present significant contribution in any field such that no other factors are equally crucial. While strong influence of past successes may instill inspiration for ones endeavoring, they may or may not catapult one’s success trajectory depending upon one’s circumstances and the field on endeavor.

Verily, proponents of the statement could argue that from the beginning, humans have generated, accumulated, documented and passed on knowledge from one generation to other, and this has served as the basis for modern discoveries and achievements. For example, the significant contribution of Gauss and Leibniz laid the foundation of modern mathematical modeling; Avicenna's work on medicines served as precedent for present day health care; and so on. Likewise, Einstein had to first learn the Newtonian classical mechanic laws to challenge them whereas Zuckerberg was required to learn programming to launch ‘Facebook Inc’.

The statement is further supported by the argument that past successes set benchmarks and high standards for future generations as learnt from several examples of athletes, virtuosos, leaders, etc. who found inspiration in the success of some of their predecessors. For instance, Martin Luther King, in his fight for the rights of people of African descent, was strongly influenced by the success of Mahatma Gandhi's 'Satyagraha' movement. Similarly, the 2018 World-Cup winning French footballer Kylian Mbappe derived his inspiration from the exploits of legendary Cristiano Ronaldo.

However, both the arguments cannot suffice for the statement’s generalization. Firstly, learning from prior achievements is not equivalent to being strongly influenced by them. In many endeavors, strong influence of previous success in the may result in customary approach, limited by convention, thus hindering progress and restraining innovation. Otherwise, the emergence of screen-touch smart phones would not have been plausible considering the success of keypad cell phones. Similarly, when keyboard computers were a norm to interact with operating system, Apple got tremendous success in McIntosh with a device called 'mouse' which can be used to simply click icons obviating the need to type tedious programming command. Similarly, in novel scientific frontiers such as quantum computing, data science, artificial intelligence, etc. the prime requisites are out-of-box thinking, creativity and an innovative mind rather than the influence of non-existing precedents.

Secondly, past glories of the pioneers in field must be interpreted positively by the tyros. A strong influence, at times, may have an overwhelming effect that can lead to underestimation of one's potential. This negative interpretation be extremely demoralizing for one’s efforts especially when the results are not as desired and promising. On the contrary, making significant contributions in a field invoke questioning the validity of ‘established’ norms and challenging the past achievements. For instance, Ptolemy’s geo-centric model of the universe was considered an irrefutable truth by the Church and the highly related contemporary scientific fraternity because they believed that it endorses their idea of anthropocentric universe. Had Copernicus been influenced by Ptolemy’s achievement, he would have never been able to question Ptolemy assumptions’ and immortalized his name in History by refuting the latter’s theory.

In conclusion, the statement is an unfair generalization for the reason that while past achievements are good resource for learning and taking inspiration, their strong influence may or may not help individuals to achieve success subject to one’s circumstances and field of endeavor. In fact, many times, strong influence of past achievements can have an overwhelming and underestimating effect on an individual. To achieve success, one must always be courageous enough to challenge the set benchmarks, creative enough for out-of box approaches and motivated enough to rise from setbacks while taking inspiration and cues from past achievements.