Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

The adage ‘everything that glitters is gold’ has been there for a while. The speaker laments that this principle has become more prevalent in the current society. While it is true that in the contemporary society more importance is assigned to creating an appealing image the reality or truth behind it; in the longer term, sustaining that image is always a matter of truth behind it.

The statement finds support in the fact that humans are more interested in superficial understanding of a thing or an individual primarily due to their psychology and beliefs. Of all the faculties endowed upon humans, the sense of sight has precedence over others for better or worse. That is to say, we do judge a book by its cover. Whether choosing flowers from a shop or cakes from bakery, we tend to base that choice upon the external appearance. This could be justified by considering the popular belief, as espoused by Buddha that the inner virtues reflect in the outward image or behaviour. For example, while packing up fruits and vegetables, the packers’ selection is based on their outward colour for that is an indication of their freshness and taste. Similarly, an individual’s mannerism, behaviour, language and courtesy are indicative of his or her nature and nurture.

In this age of global media and intense competition, this human nature of superficial evaluation of things or individuals is exploited by marketing agents or campaigners thus further corroborating the statement. Today, for any business or area, branding through advertisements has become more important than ever. In businesses, manufactures place a significant emphasis on the distinctive colours, aesthetics, built and style of the product to appeal to customers. In arts and music, promoters feign to portray a sexually attractive image of the artist or the singer more than the merit of his or her art and talent. In politics, during elections, political leaders spend millions for hiring political campaigners and advertising. Whether electronic, print or social, all media platforms are used to propagate the candidate’s personality, credentials, experience and promises for the electorates.

However, one must note that though product or person may gain short term success or recognition on its external appealing image; it is always the inner quality of truth that prevails ultimately. For example, Apple’s iPhone, though initially attracted customers due to its peculiar looks and design, could only find ultimate success because of its inner features such as user graphic interface, endurance and security. This can be substantiated by the fact that many Chinese smart phone manufacturers who tried to imitate Apple’s design and looks could never succeed. Then there are examples of Bill Clinton and Tiger Woods who, while initially enjoyed tremendous popularity, finally fell from people’s grace when their sex scandals came to the fore.

Moreover, no individual can be flawless in traits or character. Many a times, it is not entirely bad to conceal one’s shortcomings especially when they are not the requisites for carrying out the job or responsibility assigned. Martin Luther King suppressed his licentious nature while leading the civil rights movement of the religious Afro-American community. Otherwise, he would have lost his following as well as the struggle for the rights of the oppressed populace.

In the final analysis, considering the human psychology and belief to emphasize outward appearance, in addition to the advent of media and marketing, it is safe to conclude that creating an appealing image has indeed become more important of late than reality or truth behind it. However, in the longer term that image wanes without inner substance or reality to support it. Furthermore, in some instances it is not completely unfortunate to hide a complete truth especially when the greater good of the society is at stake