Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Learning of any sorts helps in the growth of personality.Learning is not always related to academics it can be any sort of learning i.e sports , art or just observing things in day to day life. To learn something thoroughly , the student should develop a keen interest otherwise it would just be superficial or just to get the job done.I agree with the author to some extent that learning anything is a matter of personal discipline , as without proper discipline a person would never genuinely learn anything and will try to find ways to avoid learning.

Firstly, a student’s life is surrounded by exams. His motivation or requirement for learning is mainly in order to give some exams . The more he learns the more he scores, but this learning is ephemeral. As after a few years or even few months the student will forget things which he just barely mugged to pass exams .On the contrary when a student learns something out of interest for a particular subject matter , that knowledge will remain in his mind for a longer time .For instance , when a student is about the World War for academic purposes he finds some personalities interesting and does some research about it . The possibility of him remembering his research is more than the mugged up answers for the exam.

Secondly,when a person attends school or college there are various other activities happening in college apart from academics.These extra curricular activities are not mandatory for each student but surely helps them in building their personality.Students who are interesting in learning these new things pursue it on their own without the compulsion of any professor.While attending college or school student also participate in various activities on their own ,which they learn completely on for pursuing their own interest. This learning is based on an individual basis and not supported by some school or college.

However, there are some rudimentary subjects which are taught to students only in schools. Its when they learn this subjects in school they go on to pursue them in great depths. For learning these subjects the student need not have any personal discipline as these subjects are common and required for everyone. For instance, in order to study subjects like history,geography and mathematics a student need not have any personal discipline as such because he/she has to study this subjects in order to grow in life,

In conclusion , I would like to say that learning anything depends on the interest of the student . If the student really wants to learn something he should pursue it irrespective of the fact that it is included in his academic curriculum.Learning happens when a student is motivated for it and not forced to learn a particular thing.