Some people believe that the most effective means of advancing the development of a society is by focusing on the contributions resulting from the goals of each individual. Others believe that goals pertaining to the whole society provide a necessary unifying direction, without which individual contributions are meaningless.”

We live in a society where every individual is unique. These individuals comprise of a society living together in harmony.Every individual tries to contribute as much as he can for either his own welfare or his societies welfare.Keeping this in mind, these individuals must try and develop their goals which would help the society to a much larger extent than himself.I agree with the author to some extent that individualistic goals must provide for a much bigger cause otherwise these goals might prove as a bane rather than a boon.

Firstly, every individual strives to develop himself and inturn develop the society in the coming times.These individuals somehow become eccentric and they think that their goals are above the society. These individual goals can prove to be detrimental to the society.For instance, nuclear energy was built to substitute a better way to provide electricity.Nuclear energy proved to be much more efficient than the arcane ways to provide electricity , but some of these individuals use this kind of energy for destruction of the society. Hirsohima and Nagasaki are the living examples of this scenario.

Secondly,new technologies must prove beneficial to the entire mass of society instead of a particular region. The developed nations have technologies which should be provided to all the developing and third world countries in order to develop humanity.For instance, technologies like internet which provide as a source of information to the entire world are still not reachable to all the places in the world due to high maintenance costs and lack of infrastructure , these technologies should be feasible to all the possible regions.

However,individual goals do provide means to the betterment of the entire society.Some technologies which are founded by some eccentric individuals may prove fruitful to the entire society.This might seem banal at first but might prove to be revolutionary in the near future. For instance,individuals like Bill Gates and Steve Jobs created Windows and Apple respectively .Today the products of these companies are used by almost every individual in the world.Hence some individuals might not seem to care about the impact of their invention on the society but those might help in development of the society eventually.

In conclusion,development of the society is effectively done by both individualistic and unified goals.The intention behind every goal should eventually be positive and not destructional.Society will develop when all the individuals will strive towards the betterment of it, with respect to everything in their power.