A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

A person is said to be a criminal when he/she commits any action which is against the law.The criminal activity can be judged on the various events committed by the person.The right of judgement about whether any civil rights or any rights for that matter should be with the concerned authorities , these judgements should not be affected by the consensus of common people. I disagree with the conclusion that the author is trying to make that the criminals should be deprived of any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor for the following reasons.

Firstly, every person is unique in is his personality and skill set . Likewise every criminal is different based on the crime that they have committed.For instance , a person who has committed murder should not the compared with a person who has committed a petty theft such as pickpocketting.Both of these scenarios are consider to be against the norms of law but should both of these be treated equally ?.The depravity of rights from the former seems more likely than the latter.Therefore the author must be more specific about the criminal activities and should not generalize about everyone.

Secondly,it is observed that a person is taught all the good qualities and activites while the bad ones are learnt by himself.A person commits crime based on the situation he/she is in. There are people who preach about religion and let others believe that a certain crime can help their community and lead them to a path for heaven.These are the terrorist organizations which brainwash people into believing that their religion will thrive when some other religion gets bombasted.These people who are brainwashed might inherently be good , they might choose this path because of a myriad of difficulties faced by their surroundings. Hence, these type of people should be able to start their lives again as a normal human being and should not be depraved of any rights.

Finally,their are many people who commit heinous acts which cannot be forgiven.These type of people who have a track record of committting such harm to society definitely don't deserve any kinds of rights.A person who knowingly and repeatedly commits crimes that harm the society should be banished from the society.Since the fear of knowing that these people still roam around us would create a very hostile environment around many people and they would not be able to live with freedom and safety.

In sum,a person should be depraved of his rights by judging both his past and present scenarios.Also the author should not generalize about the retainment of rights for all the criminals, he should have been more specific about the type of crimes.Morever the people who do knowingly and repeatedly commit these kind of crimes should definitely be depraved of all kinds of rights otherwise it would be the common people who will get depraved of their rights.