A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor

We live in a gray society where someone makes their living by principle and morals while some choose shortcuts. After the consequences of a person who commits a crime should be completely dependent upon the law but in general, I disagree with the claim for these three reasons. However, there are some serious offenses for which one should be not allowed to retain any civil rights.

Whenever someone commits a crime, he or she definitely deserves a chance to correct his mistakes. For instance, Harry brokes into the house of his best friend and steals gold from him. He not only broke his friend's trust but the act of stealing is morally wrong. He eventually gets caught and thrown into jail for the heinous act he committed. Consequently, in jail, he realizes his mistake and wants to earn money the right way. He joins a furniture-making company that uses criminals to create cheap furniture. Now, if Harry doesn't get pay for it, and jailer still uses him to build furniture, an intense feeling of discontentment will be created in his mind and he will never learn to honestly earn the money. On the other hand, if he gets paid for it, he will be satisfied and there is a good chance that he will leave the jobs of miscreants. This will not be beneficial for Harry, but also for the benefit of the society since they will be getting cheap furniture. Also, in spite of wasting time in jail, we use his time and saves public money, the Government is spending to keep Harry alive. There are several other benefits of keeping Harry busy in the Jail. Therefore, it is not immoral and actually logical to let a criminal benefit from his or her labor.

Even if we believe that as he broke the social contract, they do not deserve civil rights, then there is no way of achieving balance in the society. Punishment for the crime serves the dual purpose. Firstly, fear is necessary for the mind and secondly, the time he spends in jail for his or her wrongdoing should be aimed at to get better. For example, if a thief remains a thief even after serving 2 years of imprisonment, then we are not doing the punishment the right way. Hence, imprisonment time should be utilized as an opportunity to get corrected, and the right to benefit from his or her own labor can be a good way.

Obviously, there are several levels of crime, and the right to retain civil rights should be dependent on the severity of the crime. For instance, a murder is a very heinous crime and one should not get an easy way out of it.

The right to retain or revoke completely depends on the severity of the crime, and at last aim of every punishment should be actually get corrected.