Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In an ideal Judiciary system, every innocent person should be proven innocent and every criminal should get indicted. Despite being a lot of iterations and amendments in the laws, yet no country is able to achieve the ideal state. However, our aim should be to reach as close as possible. Now, this breaks into two scenarios. Firstly, every criminal gets indicted but sometimes an innocent man also wrongly gets convicted too. Secondly, an innocent person never gets convicted even if that means sometimes a criminal also gets a green card. Hence, out of these two states, every country has to choose what condition they want to be in and laws should be designed to accommodate that. Therefore, the laws should be flexible or strict depends upon the above-mentioned idealogy of the country. Below are the main ideas behind my thesis.

For the first scenario, the laws are needed to strict and narrow so that no criminal gets out of the judiciary system. Therefore, laws cannot be flexible to take into account various scenarios because if they are, criminals can use flexibilities to mislead the court. For instance, an eye witness confessed against a criminal that he or she saw this particular person committing murder. Now, if the laws say that at least 2 eye witness is required to remove the possibility of human errors, lawyers can use this loophole to save his or her client. Hence, laws are need to strict and focussed if the goal is to catch all the criminals.

For the second scenario, the laws are needed to be flexible enough so that an innocent person gets a complete opportunity to prove his or her innocence. For instance, in the earlier case, what if that particular eye witness has some deep-seated ill-will towards the man in conviction. In that case, the eye witness can utilize this chance to take revenge on him or her. Hence, in that case, laws are needed to be flexible to consider all the circumstances, times, and places so that an innocent man never gets wrongly convicted.

In conclusion, I think there is a very fine line between the flexibility and strictness and area of flexibility or strictness should be decided on what a country believes about the purpose of law since it is practically impossible to achieve the ideal scenario.