Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news During the same time period most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with th

In the memorandum, the author has suggested restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its formal level. The author has come to this conclusion based on the complaints received from various viewers and a decline in local advertisement revenue. Quite convincing though such a statement appears at first glance, closer scrutiny reveals that conclusion lacks crucial support. Before the author's recommendation is accepted, the following assumptions need to be clarified.

Firstly, are the complaints diversified? In other words, it is possible that the complaints are from a single area that is more prone to vandalism and weather issues. For instance, maybe complaints are from a specific region that has a local gang or from an area that has a lot of sanitation issues. In that case, the author's concerns for the complaints are not holistic and thus cannot be used to make a point towards the conclusion.

Secondly, there are several other reasons which are possible for a decline in local advertisement revenue. It is possible that the local advertisers have found a better source of advertisement to promote themselves. For instance, a local newspaper has also started advertisements and businesses are preferring those to target older people. It is also possible that the economy is down and businesses can't afford advertisements on television anymore. In addition to this, now their TV network has the option to target national brands that can compensate for the loss in local revenue. Therefore, if any of the above scenarios are true, the argument does not hold water.

Lastly, the author has not considered anything about the national news viewership. It is possible that the demand for national news is more than the local news. Therefore, restoring time may lead to a decline in the viewership of national news. It is true, the argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide explanations to raise concerns and provide more information in a form of statistical data and research study, then it might be possible to evaluate the viability of restoring the time for local and weather news.