The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Board of Directors of Monarch Books has proposed a recommendation for opening a new cafe inside its store to attract more customers. The author has come to this conclusion based on the fact that their competitor Regal Books has recently opened a cafe. Quite convincing though such a statement appears at first glance, closer scrutiny reveals that the conclusion lacks crucial evidence. Thus, before this recommendation can be accepted, the below questions need to be answered.

Firstly, why will opening a new cafe attract new customers? In other words, the author has presumably assumed that opening a new cafe will attract new customers. It is possible that a popular cafe is already present nearby and people already love its delicacies. In that case, opening a new cafe will not have any effect on the number of customers. Furthermore, it is possible that a new cafe can retract the existing customers as a change of environment is not palatable to them. For instance, there is a possibility that existing customers of Monarch Books like to read in a library-like environment and that's why they previously chose Monarch Books as compared to Regal Books. Also, it is mentioned that a wide selection of collections is an actual reason behind its popularity. Thus, the conclusion drawn here does not have any evidence or valid reasoning.

Secondly, why will discontinuing the children's section not have any impact on Monarch Books? In other words, the author has assumed that a decline in the percentage of the population under age ten will impact the popularity of the children's section. For instance, it is possible that the overall population of adults has grown significantly and because of this, the percentage of underage children has gone down. A decrease in percentage of population does not justify a decrease in the number of under ten age children. Moreover, it is clearly mentioned that the Monarch store's children section is already popular. Hence, it is possible that most of the customers of Monarch are actually children. Therefore, closing the kids' section will have a huge impact and it would surely be a detrimental one. If the above has merit, the argument does not hold water.

Lastly, did Regal Books actually experience a rise in customers' numbers after opening a new cafe? No evidence is provided that Regal Books actually benefited by opening a new cafe inside the store. It is possible that readers from the Regal Books are shifting to Monarch books because of this new cafe. Therefore, opening a new cafe in Monarch Books will prevent the rise in customer base. In addition to this, is Regal Books comparable to Monarch Books? It is possible that both books stores are quite different in their collection, facilities and attract completely different kinds of customers. For instance, extroverted readers like Regal Books while introverted people like Monarch Books. Hence, the conclusion drawn from the comparison is untenable.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above three questions and can provide further details perhaps in the form of past customers' surveys and reviews, then it might be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation of opening a new cafe inside the Monarch Books.