It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

Friendship is one of the most of important part of human life. It is the only relation that we get to choose. We cannot choose our family member, it is decied from our birth but we have a liberty to choose our friends and maybe that is the problem. Sometimes, when we have multiple options and we can only choose some, it becomes really difficult. The prompt suggests that keeping the old friends is more important than making new friends. I agree with the author that one should always be close to their old friends. However, depending on the situation, one should also make new friends. I will elucidate my position using following main ideas:

First of all, your old friends know you better. In other words, the duration of your friendship determines crucial factors required to maintain a relationship. Understading, trust and care are some of the important factors that maintains a relationship and these qualities come with time. For instance, your childhood friends who have spent more time with you will certainly know you better than any other friend. Another example of good old friends are college friends. College is one of the most crucial time of your development and friends that you make there are for life. Therefore, it is very important to remain in contact with them as they are the people who will support you in your bad times, who will make you laugh every time you meet or talk to them. Hence, one should always keep their old friends rather than making new friends everywhere.

Secondly, if you keep making new friends and leave your old friends every time you shift, you will not be able to make close friends. For instance, I moved to Bangalore after my graduation and some of my collegemates were also here. However, if instead of remain in contact with them, if I have started making new friends here and ignored the old ones, I would never be able to make close friends. You cannot blindly trust new people as trust grows with time. Friendship requires time and determination. Therefore, it is better to remain in contact with your old, because they will be the first ones to become your close friends.

Lastly, maintaining the close friends does not mean that you cannot make new friends. Every human needs companionship and there may be some circumstances where your old friends will not be with you everytime. For instance, if I move out of the country to pursue my masters, it is highly possible that I will not have any old friends there. Now, if I stick to my ego and just remain in contact with my college friends, may be catch up with them online;there will be a time, where I will need to go out for trekking, partying and for these activities I will need physical availability. Therefore, one should not stop making new friends but also remain in contact with your old friends.

To sum up, no doubt old friends are important. They will be first one to be available for you, no matter what state you are in. But one should also make new friends given you remain in contact with your old friends, even virtually!