A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author advocates that the residents of Mentia will suffer even less from headache cases in the future. The author has arrived at this conclusion due to increase use of Salicylates, the members of the same family as aspirin(a headache medicine), in packaged foods as preservatives and flavor additives. Quite convincing though such a statement appears at first glance, closer scrutiny reveals that argument lacks crucial support. Therefore, before this conclusion can be accepted, the below questions need to be answered.

Firstly, what is the authenticity of the mentioned study? In other words, how holistically this study has been conducted? For instance, it is possible that the people who are taken as subjects for the study were not suffering from headache problems before. It is also possible that the data has been deliberately faked to promote the use of salicylates in food products. The author has not provided any details about the study program like where it was conducted, under whose supervision or was there any government body involved or the research is funded by a private food processing company. Until the author provides further detail about the study, the drawn conclusion is significantly weakened.

Secondly, even if we assume that the study conducted is authentic, i.e salicylates do have soothing effects on people suffering from headaches, is there any actual correlation between the use of salicylates in commercial food products and the decline in headaches reported? It is possible that the people of Mentia do not consume packaged food products and rely only on organic food for their living. In that case, salicylates are naturally consumed not as preservatives. It is also possible that the commercial food people consumed is already rich in salicylates. If that is true, salicylates are not actually consumed as preservatives and the argument will only be partially true for a very small portion of commercial products. If any of the above is true, the argument does not hold water.

Lastly, is a large amount of salicylate safe for human consumption? The author has prematurely assumed that the more the amount of salicylate, the more the therapeutic effect. We all know that medicines should be consumed in a particular amount and overconsumption can result in several side effects and even the reverse. Therefore, maybe it is possible that using an additional amount of salicylates as a flavor additive is actually detrimental. Even if we assume that the quantity is safe, it is still possible that the effect of salicylates is limited and overconsumption will not have any effect. Therefore, the prediction of health experts that the number of headache cases will decline further is untenable.

To sum up, the argument as it stands now is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above three questions and provide more concrete details then it might be possible to evaluate the viability of accepting the prediction.