Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Today, scandals are common phenomena. Each country at some point in their life has experienced or directly or indirectly suffered from it. Due to its fatty nature, one can see a scandal as a useful measure to get the attention of people. In general, I disagree with the claim and one should do everything to avoid them. However, there are some examples in history which prove a scam can be insightful and help in the betterment of society.

Scandals are the big reason behind any countries' economy, social, and welfare failures. In other words, one doesn't need to wait for a scandal to happen to get attention to problems in society. For instance, the 2G scam, 3G scam, and "chara ghotala" are some of the worst scams that happened in India and these scandals were responsible for the economic slowdown. Some of the big ministers of the ruling party were involved in this scam and that even resulted in the Government failure. Therefore, scandals not only destroy the economy but also destroy the stability of the government. Moreover, there is a high probability that our current socio-economic problems are merely results of some scandals. For instance, many people lost lives, died with hunger, during the recession resulting due to the housing debt scam of 2008. Therefore, scandals do not divert our focus on problems, they create new ones, and to glorify them as useful measures to tackle our existing problems, can result in some bigger problems. Scandals are not useful, they are the evil ones.

Even if we believe that a scandal is an attentive way to identify the root cause of an issue, it does not seem logical to wait for scandals to happen. Scandals are our failures and no one wants failures. Depending on the scandals is just like depending on low marks on a test to get the motivation to study. If you get low marks on a test, you are already behind many students and now you have to perform extraordinarily in the next test to cope-up for this one. Similarly, if you wait for a scandal, to cope-up with the resulting loss, we will need to outsmart in many other fields.

Someone can argue that scandals can be a good way to reveal clandestine immoral activities. For instance, In 2008, Edward Snowden exposed the CIA who was spying on the whole world and from that wave, all Data Privacy charade started. Today, data privacy is the biggest problem for every country, and Data Protection Laws are being created to tackle the issue. In this particular case, a scam revealed one of the biggest problems, which at some point in time was unknown and helped in protecting the privacy of the people. Therefore, scandals can be useful where the cause is unknown and needs telling.

In conclusion, the scandals are not useful, oppositely many of our existing problems are the progeny of them. Therefore, we should focus our attention on our existing problems, some way or other so that we can avoid scandals as far as possible and bypass some bigger problems that they can create.