Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Young people are the future of every country. A country's growth is largely dependent upon the quality of education, availability of jobs, and happiness index of its people. However, in our today's semiconductor-based life, it has become very easy to showcase your talent and follow a trend. A lot of people get influences from these social media trends and start seeking immediate fame and recognition. I mostly agree with the author that young people should be encouraged to pursue long term, more realistic goals rather than immediate fame and recognition. The following are the main ideas behind my thesis.

Firstly, the fame and recognition are ephemeral in nature. In other words, time is ever-changing; there was a time when colorful clothes were in fashion and now most of the expensive brands in the world promote bald clothing. A person who is popular now, may not be popular after some year. Let's take an example of TikTok, it is a popular media app where people can just use their mobile phones to create creative videos and publish them online. Today, there are millions of young people who left their school just because they became popular and now want to pursue their career in show business. However, this fame is really temporary, and very few people actually succeed in life ahead. Therefore, young people should always set long-term goals, it can be either acting, dancing, singing, or even medical. But this goal should not be set on the basis of immediate trends and one should really pursue his or her own interests.

Secondly, the path after immediate fame and recognition is not defined and often a conundrum. People seek immediate fame based on the trends to get attention from people around but the path ahead is really tedious and unpropitious. For instance, in today's world of technology, it is very easy to showcase your talent on platforms like YouTube, Instagram, and Snapchat and you can even get big fame and recognition easily but the afterlife becomes really difficult. It is possible that a model who is very popular on Instagram finds it very difficult to get a proper modeling job in the fashion industry. Hence, we should always set for long-term goals and should avoid taking shortcuts to reach our goal.

Lastly, what if a person does not know about his or her interests? Even, what if a person is good at acting or singing but is unaware of it. In that case, following a trend and seeking fame can serve as an epiphany. However, one should still follow a proper path to fame and should avoid taking shortcuts.

To sum up, seeking long term goals provide stability in life, and fame and recognition are really temporary and one should always take their action to make their future prosperous.