Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Arts is one of the fields of human learning which is quite different from others and its impact on mankind is enormous. From the period of monarchy to its role in independence, no one can deny the role played by great artists in history. For instance, the single gazal, "hum dekhenge" by a great poet, Faiz Ahmed Faiz, helped people of Pakistan to unite against cruel dictatorship and played a significant role in achieving democracy. But as we are progressing more toward the technological world, the importance of arts is surely deteriorating and other fields like commerce and science are becoming better options in terms of employment and opportunities. Therefore, the Government should start looking for ways to support art students as well as under-rated artists but its influence should be minimal so that the integrity of arts can be preserved.

We have talent in each and every corner of the country but these beautiful minds fail to advance in their fields, mainly because of economic issues. They are the sole bread earners of family and art being "no-so-profitable" field of income, they have to look out for a better source. For instance, In India, after the 10th Standard, every student has to choose his/her field for the future. In the present circumstances, only commerce and science are considered to be the best fields as there are better job opportunities, and art is considered to be taken if you don't get into the other two. Therefore, if the government starts encouraging students to pursue their carrier in arts by providing better job opportunities and scholarships to students, more students will be able to pursue their carrier in arts and can contribute significantly to its development.

But too much intervention can also threaten its integrity. Arts is considered to be in purest form when it is not commercialized. For instance, if an artist starts working for a political party, his work would be highly impacted by parties' ideology and it will just be a piece of marketing and elections rallies, resulting in threatening the integrity of arts. Hence, too much government influence can be harmful and work and policies should be created to safeguard the basic principles of arts.

In conclusion, the field of arts which once considered to be a privilege and had great respect, now needs government support provided that its influence should be minimal so that it does not destroy its principality.