Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Every government in their tenure faces numerous issues. It can be new, or long-running like poverty or can be a futuristic problem that the government has just anticipated. Given the restricted budget, it is very difficult for the government to solve all the problems and have to choose the most important one. The prompt advocates that government should always choose the immediate ones as they are present and leave the future problems for the future. I agree with the prompt in general but there can be several other serious scenarios where later one can be a better choice for these three reasons.

First of all, the path to solving immediate problems is definitive, tried-and-tested, and can be easy to accomplish as compared to futuristic anticipated problems. For instance, most of the immediate problems like hunger, education, and corruption are already solved by some of the developed nations. Therefore, developing countries like India can take examples from these countries, and consequently, these problems will be easy to solve as compared to other prognosticated problems. For example, the literacy rate in India is around 40% and it is one of the most difficult problems faced by the government whereas developed countries like the USA hosts some of the best universities in the world and have literacy rate above 80%. India can refer to some of the actions taken by the USA to solve its education problem. Further, solving an immediate problem will particularly help lower class people, whose upliftment is far more important than 5G internet. I am not conveying that 5G is not important but problems that encumber the growth of the country are far more important and should be the primacy of the government.

Further, even if we assume that situations are not similar and the same solution cannot be implemented, the government definitely has more insights, knowledge, and data for immediate problems. Therefore, designing and implementing solutions for these problems will be more practical and have a better chance of success. For example, One day India gets the information that China, its neighboring country has upgraded its military power. China has bought several new fighter jets and has upgraded their weapons. In response to this new parlous danger, Indian Government also decides to upgrade their weapon but does not have any information on the fighter jets and weapons china bought. In the lack of information, it is very difficult for the government to anticipate and devise a good strategy to tackle the issue. On the other hand, about the issue of poverty, they have much more data, knowledge, and results of earlier actions. The government will have complete information like which states, are there any particular communities or any particular areas which are much more affected and this can really help to devise a better strategy to tackle this particular issue.

But there is always a fine line between the immediate problems and future-immediate problem. It is possible that, in the above example, china's military upgrade has posted some serious national security threats, and the Government of India should do everything in their hands to make its position stronger. Hence, the choice between immediate and futuristic problem cannot be that simple and should be made considering all the factors.

In the end, the main motive of solving any problem is to make lives better. Every problem is important, some may be easy or hard but it is very important to choose one that matters the most.