Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Assesement of one's knowledge is one of the most intricate task in the education field. From the past several decades, education ministers have been trying various methods to judge one's perceptive understanding. And from all of these experiments happened over a long period of time, we finally have a grading system based on exams. But this system also has it own merits and merits. The prompt suggests that to assess student's learning, one should test the knowledge of concepts, ideas and trends rather than relying on the grasp of facts. I mostly agree with the author and advocate that knowledge of facts is equally important as concepts and will elucidate my position with three following reasons.

Firstly, the most important distinction between the facts and the concepts is that one has to memorize the facts while concepts need to be understood and learnt. Relying only on the facts will just led student to memorize things rather than actually understand the idea behind it. For instance, if a student is learning about the idea of non-violent independence movenment led by Mahantma Gandhi during 1945;only learning about the various facts about the movement will not help students to actually understand the importance and value of non-violence. Therefore, testing the grasp of concepts is really important.

Secondly, learning the ideas, trends and concepts helps an individual to apply the anology on various circumstance in real life. In other words, just knowing the facts will not help an individual to apply the same idea in his or her own life since the situation and the cicumstances now and then will be completely different. Let's take an example of essay writing in English. If a student just memorize certain essays and hope that using the facts from a pool of essasy, he or she will be able to essay on any topic is quixotic. Because it is possible that the pool that he or she made just contained ideas about politics and arts but not science. However, if a student has learnt how to actually write an essay like the format, language-control, and cohesion, there are higher chances that student will be able to write essay on any topic.

Lastly, it is also true that facts about a certain ideas or concept really helps an individual to understand an idea completely. For example, it is impossible to truly understand the importance on non-violence without knowing historical movements like the non-cooperation movement and the "Namak yatra". It serves as example for working of the ideas. Therefore, educators must check both the knowledge of concepts, ideas, trends and the related facts.

To sum up, both the facts and the concept serves a very vital role in the learning of students. Solely relying on either facts or concepts will surely be detrimental. Hence, educators should focus and assese both the concepts and the related facts.