The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter to the editor, it is stated that skateboarders are the actual reason behind the steady decline in the shopkeeper businesses and if the skateboarding is prohibited in the plaza, they can return to its previous high-level state. The author has come to this conclusion based on the observation that an increase in the population of skateboarders, resulted in an increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. However, before this action can be properly evaluated, three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, do the skateboarders are the actual reason behind the downfall in the business? In other words, there can be several other reasons behind this downfall. For instance, it is possible that a new highway is being constructed near the Central plaza and it is causing a lot of pollution and noise due to which people are avoiding traveling to the mall. Further, the Steady decline in popularity can also be a result of an increase in competition. It is possible that a new better mall has launched in the city and people are choosing to go there due to its better design, better parking facility, or availability of child care. In addition, maybe the people who are still coming to the mall are because of these skateboarders. They may be their parents, friends, or skateboarding enthusiasts. Hence, skateboarders' banishment will actually affect the shopkeepers' business more. If the above argument has merit, the drawn conclusion is significantly weakened.

Secondly, are skateboarders the actual reason behind the dramatic increase in litter and vandalism? For instance, it is possible that the other shopkeepers are actually dumping their waste at inappropriate places. Or in general, increased crime in the city is an actual reason behind burgeoning vandalism. If this is true, banning the skateboarders will not have any effect on the sales of shopkeepers. Moreover, this action can be seen as grudge towards cities' skateboarders, and may even result in more discontentment, resulting in further decline.

Lastly, even if authorities ban the skateboarders, does it guarantee the situation to become normal again? In other words, even if we assume that skateboarders are the actual reason behind the whole charade, it is possible that people will still avoid the central Plaza. Mainly, because they don't know anything about skateboarders ban or just that in between this whole process, they have found another place to spend their time, then it would pose a serious threat to the validity of the argument, thus weakening its inevitability.

In conclusion, the argument as stated is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above three questions and offer more evidence and contextual information then it might be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed action to prohibit the skateboarders from the Central Plaza.