Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Major cities of every country like New Delhi in India, are the hubs for the economy, business, and education. The author has adduced that the cities are where cultural traditions are preserved and the government should provide financial assistance in order to promote its growth which I disagree with. I advocate that cultural traditions are more preserved in rural areas of the country and there are some other more important reasons to underwrite cities.

The city contains a wide variety of people because it attracts millions of people every year from all over the world. People immigrate to major cities for better job opportunities, excellent education, and quality of life. For example, the city of France, Paris which was known for the world's fashion capital and cheese in the past, now you can't find those cultural traditions mainly because it hosts different kinds of people and the city has changed to accommodate their needs. But if you go to the villages and towns of France, you will get more cultural feel as compared to Paris. Also, the life of people living in the cities is more difficult and they have to work more hours to make living resulting in indifference towards traditions. Hence, the reason cited is not true and cannot be served as valid.

Even if we agree that cities are where cultural tradition is preserved, there are more important areas of development which need attention such as infrastructure, land and increasing pollution. Cities are always developing and it continues to hosts more people which demands better infrastructure and facilities. They are the most revenue-generating area for the government because of MNCs, lot more local businesses, and an attractive quality of life. For instance, Bangalore, an IT hub of India, serves as bread and butter for all the software engineers graduates and hosts more than 10 million software engineers every year. Due to this, the city is becoming overly crowded and resulted in housing and traffic problems. The government failed to anticipate the tech boom and was not prepared to handle the outburst of people and failed to provide infrastructure development like creating big roads, housing assistance which resulted in shifting the IT industry to another city, Hyderabad. If the government has focussed on these areas, they would not have lost so much money in terms of tax revenue and its importance would have been preserved. Hence, there are some other important factors, primarily why people move to the cities where the government should focus on.

In conclusion, I agree with the author that governments should provide financial support to promote the development of its major cities but the reason for cultural tradition's preservation is misleading and weak. There are certainly other factors that are more vigilant and important and the government should focus to invest money in the right places.