Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Our planet is designed in such a way that it cannot survive without maintaining the ecological balance. Every specie on this planet plays a significant role in maintaining this balance. But human beings, the smartest species on the earth, has been insidiously working towards destroying this balance for their own good. For the past few decades, problems like Global Warming, the Ozone layer, and the extinction of several species has been surfacing our planet. I agree with the author that society should make efforts to save endangered species only if human activities are responsible for their extinction. However, there are two kinds of human intervention, direct and indirect, and both should be taken into account.

Firstly, direct intervention i.e activities like hunting, trading, and using parts of the animal body to make products. For instance, Salman Khan hunted an endangered specie in Alwar. Trading of leopards is also a very common activity. People use the skin of these animals to create products like leather shoes, jackets, and other products. This direct intervention affects the most as it involves direct killing. Hence, to protect these species, these activities should be prohibited.

Secondly, indirect intervention such as cutting of jungles, greenhouse effect, and global warming. Humans are cutting jungles to get more land, economic gains like fossil fuel, and industrialization. Destroying the forest indirectly affects these species since jungles are home for various species and these activities are forcing them to migrate to some other place which may not be suitable for their survival. The rising temperature of the planet also affects biodiversity. Animals like penguins who live in Ice made continents like Antarctica. For them, extreme cold temperature is necessary for their survival. Now, because of global warming, ice is melting and the rising temperature is making survival for these ice loving animals harder and harder. Therefore, indirect intervention also plays a significant role in the survival of these endangered species and efforts should be made to mitigate these effects as far as possible.

To sum up, if humans are responsible for the extinction of endangered species, direct or indirect, strict efforts should be made to protect what we have left. Our survival depends upon their survival.