"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the author has concluded that Super screen should allocate a greater share of its budget for advertising. The author has come to this conclusion based on the fact that inspite of good movie reviews, fewer people are attending movies. Therefore, movies reviews are not reaching the prospective audience. Quite convincing though such a statement appears at first glance, closer scrutiny reveals that the argument lacks crucial support. Therefore, before the director's recommendation can be accepted, the following questions need to answered.

Firstly, does increase in percentage of positive reviews actually imply increase in number of positive reviews? In other words, it is possible that the total number of reviews has declined and due to which percentage of positive reviews has increased. In addition to this, the author has not provided any details about the reviews. Like who gave these reviews, movie reviewing body like IMBD or Rotten Tomatoes? Or are these reviews from actual people? If these reviews are from public who watched the movie, then it is clearly evident that the total number of reviews has declined. If any of the above is true, the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, even if we assume that the number of postive reviews have increased, does really these reviews are not reaching the viewers? It is possible that people read the reviews but still chose to avoid the new movie because they did not like the genre of the movie or some other movie released at the same time. Hence, the conclusion of the author that contents of these reviews are not reaching audience is flawed. Therefore, the argument does not hold water.

Lastly, even if we assume that both of the above issues does not exist, and the reviews are actually not reaching the audience, is there any gurantee that after advertisements, the number will go up? There are certain other possible factors because of which, people may still avoid the movie. Maybe the economy is down and people cannot afford movie tickets or there is a pandemic going on in the country because of which people are maintaining social distancing and avoiding movie theater. Therefore, the recommendation cannot be accepted without considering numerous other factors.

To sum up, the argument as it stands now is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above three questions and provide more concrete details then it might be possible to evaluate the viability of accepting advertising director's recommendation.