Do you agree or disagree with the following statement At universities and colleges sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

I agree with the author that at universities and colleges, sports and social activities are equally important as academics and receive equal financial support from the committee. The following are the main ideas behind my thesis.

Firstly, extra-curricular activities like sports, social, and cultural events promote personality development. We live in social society and thus the basic social skills are primacy to survive in this atmosphere. For instance, everyone should know how to talk to other people, behave in public, how to present themselves, and influence others. If someone is well educated like a Ph.D. but he or she does not know how to give a presentation and work with other people, he or she will not be able to use his or her skills appropriately. For example, Every professor should know how to manage students under him or her. Similarly, every employee should be good at talking to other people and pitching ideas. Extracurricular activities help an individual to develop these skills. Therefore, every school and university should give equal importance to extra-curricular activities by providing equal financial support.

Secondly, sports keep us fit and healthy. For instance, if someone is good at Football, this sport works as a hobby to an individual and forces an individual to remain fit and exercise regularly. Sports also keep us fit mentally. Student life is hectic and stressful. They go to school in the morning, after coming back, they have to work on their lessons and complete a myriad number of assignments. After all this, sports calm our mind, keep us occupied in our free time, and works as a therapy from a long working day. Therefore, every university and school should motivate their students to join one sport and participate in social activities.

Thirdly, someone can argue that what if a student does not have time for extra-curricular activities and parents spend their hard-earned money to study, not for playing in the school. If this is true, extra-curricular activities become even more important to learn time management. Also, every parent sends their children to school for overall development. I agree that academics are important but sports, organizing an event, or participating in the cultural activities are equally important as well. Therefore, every school and university should afford a tantamount amount of funds to promote students' overall development.

To sum up, every university and school should give equal importance to sports, cultural events, and other activities as academics. Because extra-curricular activities promote personality development, keep us fit and healthy both physically and mentally, and also teach us in time management, thus, ensure overall development.