We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10 in order to ensure a quality product As you know we are working with a first time director whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company Since the

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons, primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumptions that the inexperienced crew of assistant producers and directors, will take more time in arranging the studio set; rendering its main conclusion that if additional funding is not provided the movie will definitely fail.

First of all, it is not true that the inexperienced crew will definitely take a larger time to set up the scenes. In other words, inexperience does not relate to the lack of talent. For instance, it is possible that the director may have done several auditions before selecting his or her crew and they are actually very talented even better than the people he or she has worked before and may perform very acutely at the set. Also, it is assumed that an inexperienced first-time director who has only worked for shampoo companies before, will waste a lot of time to get a scene perfect. It is possible that this particular director is very insightful and perspicacious, and may even complete the film before the scheduled time. If the above reasons have merit, the argument is significantly flawed.

Secondly, there is no reason provided why the movie will fail if the funding is denied. In other words, does the failure of the movie means, the movie will not be completed or if the crew is not paid for overtime, they will not do their job perfectly. The conclusion drawn here is equivocal. For instance, it is possible that even if the crew is taking a long time to set up the set and the director is taking a long time to approve a particular shot, the actors and unionized crew can still perform their best. Also, it is possible that they will not ask for overtime pay. If this is true, the argument does not hold water.

Thirdly, the view of the movie producer about the advertisement business can be his own personal bias against them. It is possible that people who work in the advertisement business are actually very diligent and perspicacious. If this comes in light, the drawn conclusion is untenable.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that the movie will virtually be a failure if additional funding is denied.