A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Currently, there are very different varieties of countries in the world. Some are very big in sizes but have catholic culture, while there are some countries like India which are small but contain a huge variety of languages and cultures. The author argues that the school curriculum should be the same for all the students of a nation. While I agree with the author's suggestion, there are specific cases where diversifying the curriculum according to regions will be a better solution. Hence, the policy should be implemented according to the nation's demographics.

In India specifically, there exists a variety of languages and cultures. That' why each and every state has its own board of education which tries to align the students according to their local culture and I think that is really good. Everybody should have knowledge about its local culture. For instance, the state of Rajasthan has its own wide history and different culture as compared to other states, now for a student who resides inside Rajasthan, it is essential to have local knowledge. It may be about history, cultural heritages, or about the development of the local language. Local knowledge helps a student to understand his or her culture more closely and this can only be achieved if the school's curriculum is unique and diverse. For instance, if there is only one national curriculum, books cannot be just focussed on the culture of a particular state and will have to align the national values as compare to local values. Hence, diversifying the curriculum can educate students about local knowledge and identifying values more closely.

But diversifying the curriculum has its own problems. In other words, students who have learned different subjects in his or her school education may face difficulties in nationwide exams. For instance, it is possible that a student who studied in a local board of education may have left a few topics like Differentiation-Integration or history of France. Therefore, it is possible that while competing with other students for college, students of a particular state may lag behind. Therefore, it is good to standardize the school curriculum nationwide so that everybody gets a fair chance for higher education. In addition to this, the same national curriculum reduces a lot of difficulties for national examiners too. If they have knowledge about most of the students' school knowledge, it will be easier for them to set the exam instead of working toward generalizing it.

In conclusion, I believe that diversifying curriculum according to the regions is a good idea provided that it does not limit the students from competing for higher education. Because in the end, the role of school education is overall development, and to guide students for future paths do not encumber otherwise.