A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing and supporting you

The school education has a significant role to guide a student for future paths and their overall development. A school is a place where a student understands what he or she likes or what he or she wants to be in the future. The prompt recommends that all schools of a nation should have the same curriculum. I mostly agree with the author but there are circumstances in which having a specified, local knowledge oriented curriculum may be advantageous for the overall development of a student.

Firstly, the same national curriculum is advantageous for students to appear in national level exams. In other words, if all the students have studied the same curriculum in schools, it becomes easier to compete for college. For instance, consider IIT JEE, which is a national engineering entrance exam in India. This exam is based on Physics, Chemistry, and Maths. Earlier in 2012, one of the states of India, Rajasthan has its own curriculum for senior secondary education. Having different topics in science as compared to the Central board, students of Rajasthan board were at a disadvantage as they had to study both their own and CBSE curriculum in order to compete for IIT JEE. In addition to this, having the same curriculum helps the examiners too in designing an unbiased test paper. Therefore, having a national curriculum is a good idea and should be opted for.

But for the overall development, one also needs to understand the local issues, history, and culture. Since, in a national curriculum, it is pragmatically impossible to touch every culture, history, and issue. So, it is better to design a curriculum that is specified to a particular region that covers local knowledge. For instance, the state of Rajasthan in India, has its own wide history, issues, and conditions that are unique in its own way. Therefore, students who are born in Rajasthan are needed to understand the local geography and culture first which can be only be achieved through a local curriculum in school. Therefore, it is also important to have a local curriculum that covers its regions' aspects, issues, and history.

In conclusion, the same national curriculum for a whole nation has its own advantages and disadvantages. The decision should be made according to nations' geography and diversity of culture.