Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Teaching is one of the most important professions in the country. A country's future and its people's well being depends upon the quality of education one receives. But there are some flaws in our formal education system and one of them is incompetence teachers. The prompt advocates that teachers' salaries should depend upon students' merit. I agree with the author with a minor alteration that the base component of the salary should be fixed and the school should provide a bonus component based upon student performances for these three reasons.

Firstly, every teacher should be paid some fixed base salary based on his or her experience. This is required since if the entire salary is dependent upon students' performance, there is a possibility that a teacher might not get paid for his or her work. However, someone can argue that if all of the students of a particular class didn't perform well in the examinations, then it is a teacher's fault. This is flawed since the end result is completely dependent upon students and the failure of students cannot be completely blamed upon teachers. In the end, it is the student's responsibility to learn. Therefore, it is logical that a teacher should receive fixed pay.

However, if there is an incentive(additional bonus salary) component involved based on the student's academic performances then it is more likely that a teacher will do his or her work diligently. The option basically provides an incentive for teachers to focus on the entire class. For instance, in a certain section of a class, 20% of students scored excellent marks, 50% scored average and 30% were below average. This 30% of students played a significant role in lowering down the entire class's average score. Therefore, it is more likely that a teacher will start focussing on weak students because there is an incentive involved. But what about areas apart from academics? Why should not a football coach be paid a bonus salary if the team wins an inter-school football trophy? Hence, in my opinion, the bonus program should also be available to the area out of academics too.

Lastly, there are some issues with this system though. For instance, most of the school have capacity limits for classrooms. In that case, the school creates multiple sections of a class, and sometimes these sections are based on academic competency. Now, if one teacher gets a section of all topper students and the other one gets the section of average students then it will be unfair for the later one since whatever he or she does, there is a high possibility that the topper section will still perform better. Hence, we should try to mitigate these issues as far as possible. For example, in the above case, the school should avoid dividing the section based on the merit and instead may divide based on the even and odd roll numbers.

To sum up, allocating a certain component of a teacher's salary based on student's performance both academic and extra-curricular is a good suggestion. It has its own merit and issues. But rather than rejecting it outright, we should try to resolve those and make the most out of it.