The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News quot The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions Since they were declared

In this letter to the editor, the author has concluded that the proposal to built a road along the edge of wetlands should be rejected in order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment. The author has provided evidence that a similar project happened in Eastern Carpenteria that resulted in a decline in its otter population. Quite convincing though such statement appears at first glance, closer scrutiny reveals that the conclusion lacks crucial support. Before rejecting the proposal, the following assumptions need to be understood.

Firstly, is the wetlands of Eastern Carpenteria comparable to the wetlands of West Lansburg? What if, West Lansburg and Eastern Carpenteria have completely different conditions? For instance, it is possible that Eastern Carpenteria is a very sensitive region, and due to which when its sanctuary status repealed in 1978, the biodiversity of the region was not able to resist the local development. It is also possible that local people of West Landburg understands the importance of biodiversity and will participate avidly to preserve that. Meanwhile, maybe the people of Eastern Carpenteria are uneducated and just care about money and their personal development. Therefore, comparing the two regions without any data or studies is unjustified and a threat to the validity of the argument thus weakening its inevitability.

Secondly, does building a road actually affecting the wildlife sanctuary? It is possible that constructing this new road is actually not affecting the population of tufted groundhogs and other biodiversity. For instance, it is possible that the road will pass through regions having no significant importance to tufted groundhogs. In addition to this, it is also possible that this road will actually help the locals and forest officials to keep a check on illegal huntings inside the sanctuary. If this is true, clearly the road has significant importance and the conclusion drawn is untenable.

Lastly, what is a tradeoff between the biodiversity and interests of the locals? Does this project have a significant economic value for locals as compare to the destruction that can happen as a result of this development? For instance, it is possible that constructing this road can help locals a lot in terms of their livelihood, and constructing the road will not harm much the existing biodiversity. Then, this tradeoff is viable and the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide insights into the above-mentioned ideas perhaps in a form of data and research study then it might be possible to evaluate the viability of accepting the recommendation of rejecting the development proposal.