The best way to teach — whether as an educator, employer, or parent — is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The human mind is convoluted. There are a lot of research studies that show that every human is different which means everybody reacts differently to praise or criticism. Thus, it becomes very difficult for parents, teachers, or even employers to teach or give reviews. The prompt advocates that the best way to teach is to always praise the positive actions and ignore the negatives ones. I disagree with the statement and believe that actions cannot be generalized for every person for these three main ideas.

Firstly, people can take criticism positively and use feedback to improve themselves. In other words, if you keep praising a guy, he or she will never learn his or her mistakes. Consider a hypothetical scenario - a student who is very good at Maths but terrible in English. Now if his teacher keeps neglecting his mistakes in English and then that student appears for GRE, he may score very good in maths but will definitely fail in English and will be unable to complete his masters from a reputed university. Hence, if his teacher has pointed out his mistakes before, he could have learned about his weaknesses and worked towards it. Hence, it is never good to ignore your weaknesses because, at some point in your life, it will affect you.

Secondly, excessive praise can develop overconfidence. Consider a hypothetical scenario i - a student who is excellent in academics in all subjects. He always gets big praise from his teachers or parents for great marks and he starts thinking of himself as some bigshot. But at some point in his life, he will move out of school and compete in an open environment. There will be more people like him who is just as smart as him and he will not find himself in a lionizing state now. This may break him hard and he may even lose all his self-confidence. Hence, it is never good to be praised excessively and be overconfident about yourself.

But someone can argue that the praises can motivate a guy and he or she will always have something to look forward to. To them, I will say it is really complex to decide what will work out or not. It is possible that a slight insult can break a person and scar him for life. But if you are setting techniques for teaching methodology, I think it is never good to stick to one method.

In conclusion, teaching is a very complex job and requires a lot of effort and experience. The decision should be personalized but sticking to one methodology either praise or insult is never a good idea. A student should be praised for his or her achievements and should be punished or at least should be highlighted for his mistakes.