It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends

Friendship is one of the most vital options in our lives, and when it comes to keeping the old versus making new friends, two controversial opinions will be stated. As far as I am concerned, Attaining more friends is a vital matter in all people's lives which means it had better keep our old friends while trying to make new companions. The essay will illustrate why and how.

First, old friends are the individuals who have known us in a long time; hence, they are familiar with our personality or character even more than our family in some aspects. That is why their companionships offer us myriads benefits; in positive and negative life situations. Taken one oy experiences as an example, once I got sick and needed to be bedridden in hospital, my father had a severe physical disability at the time, and I could not request him to take care of me. One of my old friends had been informed about my disease and helped me out as much as possible; even he helped me pay the surgery expenses. On the other hand, many new friends who were my classmates and heard the trouble did not commit themselves to help me, of course, one of them only called to let me know about an exam date! Ergo, it is vital to keep our old friends whom we know, trust, and have commitments toward our friendship.

Secondly, time changes everything, and our circumstances are not the exception. We leave our previous habitant; city, country, and even our continent, as we grow up; hence, being taken away from our old friends is inevitable with passing the time. In every stage of life, we enter a new situation and get a new position; therefore, making new companions is supposed to be significantly normal, while contacting old friends from time to time. However, our requirements urge us to be with our new comrades. For instance, when I entered university in a foreign country, I had to travel abroad to pursue my academic goals, still became away from my family and old friends. I had many troubles in the new country as an international student; I started making new native friends to improve my second language and get accustomed to the new culture, which was strange for me initially. Moreover, I needed new comrades who can be substitutes for my old friend in diverse circumstances. It was intolerable to study and live there without friends' support.

In conclusion, friends are friends, and their advantages are inexplicable in a cursory glance. Accordingly, we can not overlook their benefits; consequently, we had better try to search for new ones while keeping the old ones. Friends are what they are, and we are continually required to expand our friends' circle.