The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The manager of the television station is asserting that their late-night news program must devote time to weather and local news as before in order to attract more viewers and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues.To support this argument the manager takes help of the complaints received from viewers about the coverage of weather and local news. He further supports the argument by stating that local business have cancelled their contracts with the company to advertise their business during the late-night show.Nevertheless, on closer scrutiny, it is seen that the argument provides scant evidence that can prove the validity of the recommendation made.

Firstly, the increase in time devoted to national news which led to the decrease in coverage of weather and local news might be due to various important reasons.There might be a national crisis which constituted to increased coverage of national news or it might happen that election year is going on and that coverage may be increased the time of national news. There could be a myriad of other factors as well which the author should have considered before stating that national news coverage should be decreased in the near future.

Secondly,the complaints from the viewes which the author states regarding the concern with the station's coverage of weather and local news are dubious. The author nowhere mentions the nature of these complaints as by stating the concern of people does not necessarily mean that the people are interested in weather and local news. It is quite likely that the people are concerned about the details and the length of the weather and local news and want some other kind of news like sports to be included in them. Also the number of complaints are not explicitly stated by the author , as the people who complained might not constitute to the entire population following the late-night news.

Last but not the least, the fact that local businesses that used to advertise during the companies late-night news have cancelled their contracts does not attribute to the decrease in coverage time of weather and local news . The businesses might be suffering from some losses during that particular time span , it is also possible that those businesses are shifting to some other location and hence would remove their ad from this late-night show.The failure of the author to provide us with evidence stating the correlation of decrease in advertising contracts and decrease in the coverage time of weather and local news weakens his argument as it is quite possible that increasing the time for weather and local news still would not cease the cancellation of advertising contracts.

In conclusion, the author's argument is filled with flaws and incomplete and incogent reasons.To make his argument more persuasive the author should have provided us with evidence stating the details of the complaints of viewers who are concerned for the coverage of weather and local news and also provide us with the number of people who did issue these complaints.The author should also have stated some evidence pointing out the relation between the decrease in advertising business and decrease of weather and local news.Had the author kept the above suggestions and points in mind, his argument would have been bolstered much better with valid facts, evidences or statistics. The argument would also be more convincing and well-reasoned.