Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior

Children in our society generally get influenced by anything and everything around them. Since while growing up we learn from various resources like our peer groups or our parents or the digital content that we see around us . I agree with the latter part of the author’s statement that in comparison to the media it is our peers and our parental role models which shape a child’s behavior and influence them the most. Having said that , how powerful each of the above influences can be depends on the child.

Firstly, our family especially our parents influence us the most as in our formative years they are the ones whom we have most of our contact. Majority of children look upto their parents as their role models and try to emulate the things that they do.For instance, a boy looking at his father shave his beard tries to use it on his even though the boy has none.Parents wanting their children to succeed in academics , promise their kids with some gifts so that their children would study , this creates a healthy competition as well as brightens the child’s future.

Secondly, the peers also play a huge role in influencing the a person behavior . As parents influence their children in their own houses . In the outer world it is the peers that influence children the most.Since peers can both make or break you , a person should be very selective in choosing his peers. For instance , peers with good qualities can even help you in starting a multi million dollar company or help you in securing your dream job . On the contrary they can also have a negative impact on a person by involving him in various habits like smoking, drinking and gambling which can have a detrimental effect on the individual.

However, the former part of the authors argument holds true in some cases. Since young minds are generally fickle they believe in whatever they see without thinking about the repercussions of their actions. Since media is always interested in showing things that would create a havoc among people instead of educating them , they sometimes portray the people performing violence superior to others. For instance , all the movies made about the mafia and drug cartels involve a great amount of violence and they portray the mafia bosses and drug lords as being very stylish and cool which gives the impression to the youngsters that doing violence is cool and that they are doing nothing wrong.

In conclusion, I would like to say that even if the people are affected by the amount of violence displayed by any form of media ,it is the upbringing i.e the family values of an individual that will show him the right path. To sum it up , the children’s peer groups and parental role models have a more powerful influence than the stuff shown on media.