An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The international development organization posits that a new variety of millet will mitigate the vitamin A deficiency problem in the nation of Tagus. Although, the author provides the notion that millet is the staple food of the people in the Tagus, leading to its high consumption; nonetheless, we are not provided with enough data or evidence to bolster the claim that this action will successfully tackle the issue of vitamin A deficiency among the people of Tagus.

First of all, the passage does not cite any data pertaining to the amount of vitamin A contained in the newly engineered variety. Neither are we presented with any quantifiable measure of deficiency of vitamin A among the people. The question that naturally leads the way is, will the amount of vitamin A contained in this new variety suffice to overcome this deficiency. It could be the case that even after consuming this new breed of millet the people of Tagus are in the shortage of vitamin A, due to the inadequate amount of vitamin A contained in those millets. Thus, without evaluating the aforementioned data points it would not be prudent to come to the conclusion that the new breed millet will solve the issue of vitamin A deficiency.

Secondly, we are deprived of any data points regarding the cost of cultivating this new variety. Although the passage points out that it would cost more and subsidies will be available to the farmers, this alone does not elucidate the whole picture. For instance, the farmers might be unwilling to cultivate this new breed of millet instead of more profitable crops. Moreover, we do not know what these subsides will entail. It could be the case that the subsides barely meet the required costs for farming this new variety. Without the aforementioned data points presented, the assumption that the farmers will be benefited from the subsidies and be willing to cultivate this new millet, is unwarranted.

Furthermore, the passage mentions that millet is a stable food in Tagus resulting in the wide adaption of this new vareity. Nevertheless, we are not presented with any study or data regarding the process of adaption of this millet. For example, how will the farmers replace their existing millet cultivation with the new variety and how long will it take? Most importantly, we do not know whether it would be even feasible to replace the old millet with this new variety. Moreover, the passage does not provide any supporting data to validate that this new variety will consistent with the ones the people of Tagus consider their staple.

Lastly, in order to combat vitamin A deficiency the international development organization points out that the government should do everything to promote this new variety of millet. However, the passage does not cite any supporting data to validate the assumption that this new variety of millet will alone solve this issue. For example, the people of Tagus might be lacking other minerals or vitamins which are necessary for the human body to absorb vitamin A. Chemicals in the body do not work in a silo, rather they work in a collective fashion. Thus, without considering those other chemicals, minerals or vitamins which are essential to the sound development of health, the assumption made by the organization is largely unfounded.