The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy — and generate additional tax revenues — is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

The mayor of Hopewell is making a recommendation to his council to build a golf course and resort hotel. The mayor bases his suggestion on the neighbouring town of Ocean View , that town did build a golf course and resort hotel two years ago.He further supports his suggestion by stating that the revenue of Ocean View has increased and new businesses have emerged in the town increasing the taxes to 30 percent.Nevertheless, on closer scrutiny, it is seen that the argument provides scant evidence that can prove the validity of the recommendation made.

Firstly,the mayor takes support of the neighbouring town which had built a new golf course and resort hotel two years ago. This fact does nothing to support the author’s argument as the mayor does not take into account the changing economic conditions for the period of two years.Also the mayor mentions the increase in tourism revenue in the town of Ocean View but this fact does not attribute to the creation of golf course and resort hotel.The author should have provided a statistical evidence stating the correlation of the creation of the golf course and resort hotel with the increase in tourism revenue.The failure of the author to provide us with said evidence weakens his argument.

Secondly,the mayor assumes that new businesses have opened in Ocean View due to creation of the golf course which is specious at best.The emergence of new businesses can be attributed to a myriad of different factors like the growth in economy of the town,it is possible that the merchants moved their business to Ocean View because of some family issues.Also the increase in taxes by 30 percent does not cogently state the increase in revenue for town of Ocean View. As increase in taxes do not correlate to increase in revenue. The author should have provided us with relevant evidence stating the increase in revenue.

Last but not the least,the author hastily assumes that development of Hopewell’s economy will be done by building golf courses and resort hotels.The mayor should have provided us with evidence stating the similarity between two towns.As it is quite likely that Ocean View has a better location in terms of weather and scenic beauty as compared to Hopewell which led to the increase of revenue.The author should look into all the possibilities of increasing their revenue before allocating their funds for the development of a new golf course and resort hotel.

In conclusion, the author's argument is filled with flaws and incomplete and incogent reasons.To make the argument more persuasive , the author should have provided us evidence stating the correlation between the creation of golf course and resort hotel to the increase in tourism revenue.Also the author should have provided us with evidence stating the increase in revenue.The mayor should consider all the possibilities for increasing revenue before building a new golf course and resort hotel. Had the author kept the above suggestions and points in mind, his argument would have been bolstered much better with valid facts, evidences or statistics. The argument would also be more convincing and well-reasoned.