People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterward are poor decision-makers.

Every person has had different life experiences and will therefore react to situations differently, responding with varying combinations of emotion and logic. It is difficult to evaluate exactly what is "poor" compared to "correct" decisions, especially in situations that do not have an obvious, logical answer. While there are many examples of both the pros and cons of basing decisions more emotionally as well as more logically, confirming which decision is best will always be debated.

While we look to our President to make difficult choices for the country, there will always be an element of regret, regardless of what the President chooses. For example, if there is a hostage situation in a country where an American family has been captured, and the belligerents want an exchange for a high-profile war criminal with the US, the President may not wish to make the exchange. This may be the logical decision, but will receive criticism as being a poor decision by some. On the other hand, making the exchange will also inevitably be considered a poor decision by others. Just because a decision was made for the greater good, does not mean it was the correct decision to all.

Further, critics of poor decisions must be placed in the decision makers' shoes. How can one evaluate what decision was poor if they do not share a common background? While many Americans felt disenfranchised with the recent police violence and reacted through the Occupy Wall Street campaign, their response received harsh criticism due to the riots, violence, and other social disruptions. While it may seem logical to protest after such injustices by bankers, the emotional response will inevitably be a factor, and influence the protestors' decisions, especially in aggregate. While protestors may not intend to riot, the circumstances and situation may evolve beyond anyone's control.

Lastly, Donald Trump's presidential campaign is another highly visible example of debatable decision making. He is logically capturing many peoples' attention through emotional arguments, and while many of his statements can be considered poor judgement or illogical, his campaign has been highly successful. Would his strategy be considered poor or smart?

Ultimately, there is no objective way in defining what is right and what is wrong, especially in complex situations where there are a spectrum of participants. Without considering people's experiences and backgrounds, one cannot objectively state that a person's decision was "poor;" what that person believed to be logical could be more of an emotional response to someone else.