In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after a few years

In a fast-changing global community, the world is moving ahead with the immense speed. In such a meteorically changing community, constituent institutions like a business, politics, education, etc. should also be protean in acknowledging and working on their roles. These institutions will be able to handle their role efficiently when multiple leaders with different views and approaches are given a chance to lead these following each other. Thus, I believe that in any field, those in power should step down after a few years to serve a higher cause.

First of all, holding power for too long can make any leader less aware of the ground reality. To illustrate this, let us look at the example of a cellular company Nokia. It’s undoubted that it was one of the most successful cellular companies during the 2000s. It was its success that lead to believe the long sitting management at that time, whatever they are doing is working and shouldn’t change a thing about it. Even though the world was leaning in favor of android phones at that time, the management failed to grasp this and faced massive losses even to the point of closing down the business. Had the management been well aware of the ground reality and given chance to proponents of the change to lead, it might have continued to enjoy the same success. Hence, leadership changes are essential from time to time to flourish.

Secondly, there is a high chance that people holding power for long might grow less passionate about their duties. Also, more dangerously, sometimes might think or act like an autocrat as one might think that a person having power for long can not be removed from the position and can get away with anything. For example, unfortunately, there are still many countries in the world which are ruled by some despots/single party(ironically enough countries have “democratic” in their names). It’s because of the assurance that no one can remove them from power as they have enjoyed power throughout their lives, they feel they are not answerable to anyone-not even to people ruled by them. Thus, in many democratic countries including the USA, the commander-in-chief can not hold office after two terms. Moreover, the limited time in such office galvanizes the person to achieve more in less time as everyone wants his/her term to be remembered in history written-the constraint person in power holding for long might not feel and can push towards apathy towards the job.

Admittedly, some might argue that time is not enough to implement long term changes/projects. Also, the next person coming to power might not carry out the projects started by the previous person with the same vigor and passion or might not complete at all. But, we should also keep in mind that the next person also won’t be holding power forever and people with the agreement of such projects will complete the same when came to power. Moreover, People who left the power can also work with the current people in power as advisors to help them understand and guide through the same.

Even though, there are some drawbacks of making a person leave the power after say 5 years like being not enough time to carry out the changes, in today’s fast-changing world half a decade is not too short time period and changes can be carried out in a way to minimize the hindrance. And, keeping someone in power for long-duration might change their attitude towards the role or can make them indifferent. Therefore, people in power in any field should step down after their term.