Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Society, right from its inception, have been dogged by scandals. Society had also been a witness to several reformers bringing about change to give its people a better standard of living. Reformers have a deep insight about the society as they are a part of it. Scandals have highlighted many issues but the people involved are often interested in material gains caring nothing for the society and its welfare. Although scandals help such issues surface, their contributions to the society is a mere trifle when compared with those of social reformers.

Scandals often come to light when a crime has already been committed. They are depicted in the most gruesome way possible. The media often choose to display illustrations of atrocities like murder, abuse of drugs, sexual abuse caring little about the impacts these will have on children. Reformers, on the other hand, have a much better way of handling such problems. They are more concerned about raising awareness about an issue rather than demanding punishment of people involved in a certain scandal.

The role media is of immense importance in this regard. It is the media which keeps us updated about recent scandals. But today media is more interested in sensationalizing the issue rather than solving it. Whenever a scandal surfaces, the media would invite “experts” on their show for their opinion. These people often break into groups and critique each other without even trying to reach a solution. When a hospital building fire in Kolkata killed about ninety patients, the media increasingly highlighted the need for compensations for the family of the deceased. People would come on talk shows and demand for discontinuing the license of the hospital. But very little light was shed on the preventive measures that needs to be taken under such dire circumstances.

The action of media often leads to extreme harassment of people who have been accused of a crime but have not been convicted as yet. For instance in the case of murder of a 12 year old girl in India, the parents were accused. The media had a field day trying to sensationalize the issue. Her parents eventually became social pariahs and had to lead an absolutely isolated life. There are people who would initiate scandals just to gain popularity. Newspapers are filled with incidents of drunk driving by famous filmstars, of a brawls in night clubs etc. Instead of condemning such practices the media keeps reporting them which encourages people to continue making trouble for their own personal benefit.

Social reformers, on the other hand, are educated individuals who genuinely care about people’s well-being. Gandhiji advocated nonviolence and led a very simple life. Social reformers not only create awareness about an issue but they also have a past which is not flushed with disreputable happenings, making them role models. Movements by social reformers like Vidyasagar have put an end to social stigmas like practices of sati and have encouraged widow remarriage. To motivate people to change, Vidyasagar got his son to marry a widow, thus becoming a role model who people can look up to.

The changes brought about by social reformers are permanent. Social reforms address an issue and arrive at a solution to the problem. Scandals often lead to changes which are not even properly enforced. When the fraudulent activities of a Ponzi scheme in India was unearthed, there was a huge public uproar. Several cases of venality came into light but nothing has been done yet to curb those practices.

Some might argue that there is a positive side to scandals in a way that they focus attention on an issue. Sometimes the public plays a major role in forcing authorities to change for the better. But the same can achieved through social reforms as well. Sometimes social reformers may not be capable of infusing a spirit of action in people but scandals can force people to adopt measures that are beneficial to the society. What remains to be seen is how long such changes, those brought about by scandals, remain in effect.

From the discussion above it is clear that the positive side of scandals is outweighed by its drawbacks.

In conclusion, reformers have a much better chance of altering the society for the better than scandals do.